Bright Green Meteor Blazes Through The Sky Of Illinois & Wisconsin [Video]

A bright green fireball and apparent meteor streaked through the dark skies of America early this morning (Feb 6, 2017). On Mon...

10 months ago
Bright Green Meteor Blazes Through The Sky Of Illinois & Wisconsin [Video]

A bright green fireball and apparent meteor streaked through the dark skies of America early this morning (Feb 6, 2017). On Monday morning at around 1:31 AM, a bright meteor blazed through the dark sky of Wisconsin for few seconds. And soon after that, the skywatchers began sharing the videos of the event all over the internet.  

According to the official facebook page ‘NASA Meteor Watch’, over 220 people reported AMS about witnessing the fireball at about 1:25 AM CST (2:25 AM EST/0725 GMT).

American Meteor Society(AMS) shared a video showing the first estimated trajectory of the meteor, suggesting that it was seen in Wisconsin, Illinois, New York, Indiana, Iowa, Ohio, Kentucky, Minnesota, Michigan, and Ontario. Most of the eyewitnesses were from Chicago and Milwaukee. 

The preliminary estimated trajectory was plotted using the witness reports. They showed that the meteor traveled from the Southwest to Northeast ending its flight on the Lake Michigan around Sheboygan and Manitowoc in Wisconsin.

NWS (National Weather Service) Chicago tweeted this video of meteor as viewed from Lisle, IL

National Weather Service in Milwaukee (NWS Milwaukee) tweeted this video from Plover, WI

NWS Milwaukee crew too shared a radar image of the meteor seen over Lake Michigan

Popular Posts